Uttar Pradesh Mein Jile Kitne Hai: Jaanne Ki Puri Jankari

Uttar Pradesh is the most populous state in India and is known for its rich cultural heritage, historical significance, and diverse landscapes. One of the key administrative divisions in Uttar Pradesh is its districts, each of which plays a crucial role in the governance and development of the state. In this article, we will delve into the number of districts in Uttar Pradesh, the significance of districts, their administration, and other related aspects.

Understanding Districts in Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh, commonly known as UP, is divided into districts for administrative convenience and effective governance. As of now, Uttar Pradesh comprises 75 districts. Each district is further sub-divided into tehsils or talukas, which are then divided into blocks. The district administration is headed by a District Magistrate (DM), who is responsible for maintaining law and order, implementing government schemes, and overseeing the overall development of the district.

Significance of Districts

Districts play a vital role in the administrative setup of Uttar Pradesh. They serve as the focal point for governmental activities, law enforcement, revenue collection, and public service delivery. Districts are instrumental in the implementation of welfare schemes, disaster management, healthcare services, education, and infrastructure development. They act as crucial links between the state government and the grassroots level, ensuring effective governance and public service delivery.

Administration of Districts

Each district in Uttar Pradesh has a well-defined administrative structure. The District Magistrate (DM) is the head of the district administration and is responsible for maintaining law and order, revenue administration, and developmental activities. The police administration is headed by the Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) or the Superintendent of Police (SP), who is responsible for maintaining law and order, preventing crime, and ensuring public safety. Other key officials in the district administration include the Chief Development Officer (CDO), District Panchayat Raj Officer (DPRO), District Health Officer (DHO), and District Education Officer (DEO), among others.

List of Districts in Uttar Pradesh

Here is a comprehensive list of the 75 districts in Uttar Pradesh:

  1. Agra
  2. Aligarh
  3. Allahabad (Prayagraj)
  4. Ambedkar Nagar
  5. Amethi
  6. Amroha (J.P. Nagar)
  7. Auraiya
  8. Ayodhya (Faizabad)
  9. Azamgarh
  10. Baghpat
  11. Bahraich
  12. Ballia
  13. Balrampur
  14. Banda
  15. Barabanki
  16. Bareilly
  17. Basti
  18. Bhadohi
  19. Bijnor
  20. Budaun
  21. Bulandshahr
  22. Chandauli
  23. Chitrakoot
  24. Deoria
  25. Etah
  26. Etawah
  27. Faizabad
  28. Farrukhabad
  29. Fatehpur
  30. Firozabad
  31. Gautam Buddh Nagar (Noida)
  32. Ghaziabad
  33. Ghazipur
  34. Gonda
  35. Gorakhpur
  36. Hamirpur
  37. Hapur (Panchsheel Nagar)
  38. Hardoi
  39. Hathras
  40. Jalaun
  41. Jaunpur
  42. Jhansi
  43. Kannauj
  44. Kanpur Dehat (Ramabai Nagar)
  45. Kanpur Nagar
  46. Kasganj
  47. Kaushambi
  48. Kushinagar (Padrauna)
  49. Lakhimpur Kheri
  50. Lalitpur
  51. Lucknow
  52. Maharajganj
  53. Mahoba
  54. Mainpuri
  55. Mathura
  56. Mau
  57. Meerut
  58. Mirzapur
  59. Moradabad
  60. Muzaffarnagar
  61. Pilibhit
  62. Pratapgarh
  63. Rae Bareli
  64. Rampur
  65. Saharanpur
  66. Sambhal
  67. Sant Kabir Nagar
  68. Shahjahanpur
  69. Shamli
  70. Shravasti
  71. Siddharthnagar
  72. Sitapur
  73. Sonbhadra
  74. Sultanpur
  75. Unnao
  76. Varanasi

FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

  1. How many districts are there in Uttar Pradesh?
  2. Uttar Pradesh comprises 75 districts.

  3. Which is the largest district in Uttar Pradesh?

  4. Lakhimpur Kheri is the largest district in terms of area in Uttar Pradesh.

  5. Which is the most populous district in Uttar Pradesh?

  6. Allahabad (Prayagraj) is one of the most populous districts in Uttar Pradesh.

  7. How are districts in Uttar Pradesh named or renamed?

  8. Districts in Uttar Pradesh are named or renamed based on historical significance, geographical features, prominent personalities, or administrative considerations.

  9. Who is the head of the district administration in Uttar Pradesh?

  10. The District Magistrate (DM) is the head of the district administration in Uttar Pradesh.

  11. Can districts be reorganized or divided in Uttar Pradesh?

  12. Yes, the state government has the authority to reorganize or create new districts in Uttar Pradesh for administrative purposes.

  13. What is the role of the District Development Officer (DDO) in Uttar Pradesh?

  14. The District Development Officer (DDO) is responsible for overseeing the planning and implementation of development projects in the district.

  15. How are districts in Uttar Pradesh classified for administrative purposes?

  16. Districts in Uttar Pradesh are classified based on their geographical boundaries, population, administrative needs, and development indicators.

  17. Which district in Uttar Pradesh is known for its historical significance?

  18. Varanasi, also known as Kashi, is a district in Uttar Pradesh that is renowned for its historical and cultural significance.

  19. What is the role of the Superintendent of Police (SP) in a district in Uttar Pradesh?

    • The Superintendent of Police (SP) is responsible for maintaining law and order, preventing crime, and ensuring public safety in the district.


Districts form the backbone of the administrative machinery in Uttar Pradesh, playing a crucial role in governance, development, and public service delivery. With 75 districts spread across the state, each district contributes uniquely to the cultural, social, and economic fabric of Uttar Pradesh. Understanding the significance and administration of districts is essential for a comprehensive insight into the governance structure of the state.

Leave a Comment